Transporting cattle

China has one big problem that is known to many people: the overpopulation.

You can see it on the streets, the traffic on the road, busses, department stores, practically everywhere. Many might know about the overpopulation in China, it has been a big issue for many years. The one child policy was forced on the people in order to decrease the population but it doesn’t seem like it has made any big changes.  Chinese consume this tiny globe for 20% of all the population, you can notice it whenever you travel to any country. It doesn’t matter whether you go to France, Mexico or Timboektoe, they are simply everywhere. Now, I have entered the den of the lion, I faced my fears and seen the reality of mass population. Don’t get me wrong, China is a paradise, there are many activities to do and food which are mouth watering but every paradise has some bad points.

On rainy days, some of you might know this song by BEAST. I like it very much, it is really nice to listen to it on rainy days.  As I slowly walked, I tried to erase all of you, but when the rain falls again all the memories that I tried to erase, come back to me.

I am not talking about some dramatic love, I am simply referring to the mass of people that gather on rainy days at bus stops. On sunny days, people will take the bike, motor, or simply walk to work but on rainy days, everyone has some kind of party at the busstop.

There are 2 bus lines which I can take to work. These busses come every 5 minutes. I waited one hour for my bus.

IMG_0874IMG_0877IMG_0878

 

I don’t know if the results are clear on the pictures but I will try to explain it thoroughly. I woke up this morning at 6:30AM and walked out of my front door at 7:15AM. Usually it takes me 25-30 min to get to the company but during rush hour its simply impossible to go to work. So I stood there, waiting for the bus and staring at the people for an hour. I just simply couldn’t believe what I was witnessing and for an hour, I had to stop myself from crying.

Back in the days, they used to transport cattle with trains. To save money, cattle would be pushed inside the train to fill every tiny hole. Many people protested against the mistreatment of the cattle and fought for the rights of these animals. But who is going to fight for humans who treat themselves like cattle, shoved into a tiny train?

Sometimes life shows you a little cruelty of life to make you appreciate what you have or once had. As I stood their waiting for the bus, the one thing that I truly felt sad about was me. I grew up in Europe, where life was not easy but liveable. It might have been a bit boring because life just ends at 6PM, when all the shops close and people go from work to home. It might have also been hard because I was the only asian in my school but I never really had to face some cruel. These people grew up, getting used to the fact that they have to jump in a overpacked bus in order to get to work on time. I remember when I whined about not having a seat in the train after my part-time job.

Leave a comment